Mish-Mash: Bigamy, Hugs, and Empaths

Cyber Hug

Well, this is just an odd mish-mash…  My friend, L, shared the following article from the Mirror with me:

“She had us both under her spell”: Men wed to same woman are now best mates

Excerpts:

Wedding cheat Karen was jailed for four months this summer after she was convicted of bigamy.

Her husbands could not contact each other before the trial was over due to the legal process – but when they met for a pint afterwards they noticed striking similarities in each of their experiences with Karen.

[One husband] said. “She would tell me lots of little lies about where she was and what she’d been doing.”

“Karen was always smiling and made it fun to be around her. She worked and was financially independent and said she owned her home, which impressed me, though I later found it wasn’t true.” [Emphasis mine.]

However, though Karen was separated from Peter she had never formally divorced him – and so they were still legally married.

“She always gave me the impression she had a lot of secrets and hidden depths but she just had this way about her that made me melt.”

He says: “After I left Karen begged me to go back, she said it was a mistake and she hadn’t realised. She told me that she lived for me and that she loved me but I couldn’t go back to her.

Jailing Karen for four months at Cardiff Crown Court in June, Mr Recorder IWL Jones told her: “It is rare for a case like this to come before the court, especially one involving a woman.  Bigamy is clearly a serious offence that strikes at the heart of the marriage system.”

“You have a good job, at managerial level – you are not a fool, you are an intelligent woman. You knew full well, I am entirely satisfied, that you were still married to Peter Sherratt.  This is not a case of mere negligence, or not checking.”

“I have no doubt at all that you are a deceitful and dishonest woman and that Mr Thomas is the victim.”

Now Peter and Chris meet regularly for a beer and a game of pool and a chat about their marriage nightmare, and are looking forward to moving on with their lives.

On an entirely different note, I was perusing the Facebook group that serves my local community, and someone pasted the following links:

Woman opens professional cuddling shop – gets 10,000 customers in first week

Welcome to The Snuggle Buddies

The articles created quite a lively discussion, and it seems Greenbelt may have a new endeavor in the offing!  I’ll be the first customer, and I might fill out an employment application.  🙂

Yet one more ramble.  If you want to find out if you are an Empath, you might try this test.

Consider yourself cyber-hugged today!   

Important Note:

If there are any FTM or transmasculine-identified folks out there who have stumbled across my blog, are on Facebook, and if you have been a victim of domestic violence, rape, or abuse, and if you are seeking support from survivors who’ve been there, please go to my “About” link and shoot me an email.  I’ll tell you how to find a supportive resource.  For starters, you can go to the Trans-Masculine Abuse Project page, but we have a secret group where you can seek peer support and be assured that your privacy is respected.

Terms and Conditions of Use

All content provided on this DogDharma blog is for informational and entertainment purposes only. The owner of this blog makes no representations as to the accuracy or completeness of any information on this site or found by following any link on this site.  Views are an expression of the blog owner’s opinion only.

Once again, no representations as to accuracy, completeness, correctness, suitability, or validity of any information on this site is claimed.

The owner of DogDharma will not be liable for any errors or omissions in this information nor for the availability of this information. The owner will not be liable for any losses, injuries, or damages from the display or use of this information.

About DogDharma

Dog Dharma is written by a human who loves dogs and who believes dogs have attained enlightenment. The human behind Dog Dharma came from humble origins, has faced many trials, enjoyed many adventures, and taken a path less traveled. He claims no special privilege or expertise, and remains humble. Dog Dharma‘s author has learned a few things along the way, and has much yet to learn. He has been told by many people that he has a talent for writing, and aspires to write a book, but is a little too lazy and disorganized, so his blog will suffice for now. He opens a window into his life in the hope that some of his words may be of comfort, some may be a beacon or warning, and perhaps he will connect with like-minded souls. Everything shared comes from a place of openness and honesty, but with no claim that he possesses the Truth. People and places mentioned should be taken as pseudonyms. In many cases, details may be an amalgamation of actual events disguised to protect the “innocent.” Nothing written is to be taken as actual fact, but as the author of Dharma Dog‘s limited understanding. From the mouths of the Beatles: In the end, the love you take is equal to the love you make
This entry was posted in bigamy, empath, empaths, healing, hug, hugs and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Mish-Mash: Bigamy, Hugs, and Empaths

  1. The real me says:

    Reblogged this on abracadabrasite and commented:
    I took the test and I’m quite happy with the results. Thank you for making me smile

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lesboi says:

    Your Super Serious Title is: The Atlas Empath (Planetary Healer)

    Not surprisingly, it showed a picture of a guy with the world on his shoulders. I have some work to do to fix that. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • DogDharma says:

      Apparently you and me both, because I got the same result. It’s pretty rough being a Planetary Healer, no? I just looked, and it was Jesus who said, “Physician, heal yourself,” but I don’t think the message had anything to do with Empaths. On another note, do you know your Myers-Briggs type?

      Like

      • Lesboi says:

        I do. I’m an INFP. I’m also an HSP (Highly Sensitive Person). That’s a thing, really it is. I think one of my goals for 2015 is to learn how to block other people’s negative energies and protect myself from all of that stuff. I think a lot of people in my life think I’m strong and tough (which I am in some ways) and that they can just unload on me but I can’t take too much of that without it taking a big toll on my mental health as well as physical health. 2014 was a big year for learning more about myself and putting my puzzle together. I’m hoping 2015 will be the year I get the puzzle pieces all working together in my favor.

        Liked by 1 person

      • DogDharma says:

        I’m an INFJ. My type has been stable over the years since I first took the test while in college getting my psych degree. My J/P score hovers close to the borderline, so I’m a near-P (not psychopath — too many peas!). Seems I might have found that I’m also an HSP; I’ll have to look for that one again. I think we both do have a certain strength, and yet a certain vulnerability. That’s why it’s good to know what an Empath is and not be susceptible to wasting our precious empathy on people who do not deserve it. From what I see, you are doing a darn good job of putting your puzzle pieces together, and 2015 may be the year for you! I hope so anyway. What is it? 40 days and counting!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Lesboi says:

        I am also a borderline P/J person but I feel more allegiance to the P. I believe I took the test about 20 years ago and I was INFJ but I never really agreed with the J. I think it’s just too close to call so I go with the P. Anyway, the HSP stuff goes hand in hand with our “type” and also being an empath. I would almost say that it’s a package deal as all of them entail being very sensitive. Unfortunately in this world we reside in we are not respected and often are the victims of abuse. That makes it even more important, in my opinion, to learn how to protect ourselves and use our gift for its best uses. I’m looking forward to learning more in the coming months.

        Like

  3. DogDharma says:

    Amen, amen, and amen!! I’ll again have to go back and look at the distinctions between P and J. I was always technically just barely on the J side, but very close to even. Since INFJ makes up only 1% of the population and I’ve never “fit” anywhere, I kept my own allegiance to J, figuring I was one-off that way, too. If that’s not bad enough, I have O- blood type, and so am a Universal Donor, but heaven help me if I ever need a heart or liver transplant!

    Like

Leave a Reply

