Growing Up

In no particular chronological order, these are some of the things and events that shaped my childhood:

Bazooka Bubble Gum

Bazooka Bubble Gum

If you remember this bubble gum, it came in pink rectangles with cartoons on the inside of the wrapper.

Bell Bottom Hip Huggers - 1970s

Bell Bottom Hip Huggers

Bell bottom hip huggers were popular in the 1970s.  Even in plaid…  I’m almost ashamed to say I had a pair!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Old Metal Black Rotary Dial Telephone

This is the type of telephone we had when I was a child.  My mother received the news about my father’s death on a phone like this.

Buzz Aldrin - Man on Moon

Buzz Aldrin on Moon – 1969

I guess I would have been in the 8th grade at the Arkansas School for the Blind when we watched this in our classroom.

Candy Cigarettes

Candy Cigarettes

Not my favorite candy by a long shot, but much better than the adult variety with tobacco.

Central High School - Little Rock - Civil Rights

Little Rock Central High School – 1957

Little Rock Central High School was the focal point of the Little Rock Integration Crisis of 1957.  This happened the year after I was born.

Cold War Nuclear Fallout Shelter

A fallout shelter is an enclosed space specially designed to protect occupants from radioactive debris or fallout resulting from a nuclear explosion. Many such shelters were constructed as civil defense measures during the Cold War.  These signs were common as I was growing up.

fudgesicle

Fudgesicle

Now this was one of my favorite childhood treats.  A neighborhood bully told me my Fudgesicle would not melt as fast if I licked it all over, and I almost believed him.

Huffy Bicycle

Huffy Bicycle

I was given a bicycle exactly like this for Christmas when I was about 9 years old, except it was ordinary blue.  I rode that darn rugged bicycle up through my college years.  When I became a teenager, the paint had started to dull, and so I re-purposed it to look like a hippie’s VW van, and put a “banana” seat and high-rise handle bars on it.

Hula Fiend

Hula Hoop

This is what we did for fun…

JFK Assassination

JFK Assassination – 1963

I was in the 1st grade when this tragedy happened — sitting home in front of the TV with chicken pox.

Lincoln Logs

Lincoln Logs

I played with Lincoln Logs when I was in kindergarten in 1961.

78rpm Record

78rpm Record

Before 45rpm records and vinyl albums, there were 78rpm records.  My parents had a whole bunch of these.

Sonic Drive In

Sonic Drive In

This fast food eatery was popular when I was in high school.  Patrons would park around the restaurant, order their food on an intercom thingamabob, and hamburgers would be brought out on trays by girls (mostly) on roller skates, and the trays would be hung on the car door.

Tinker Toys

Tinker Toys

Good quality wooden toys that were great for the imagination.  I still remember the smell of the wood of the round pieces with holes.

Transistor Radio

Transistor Radio

This is what we used to listen to radio stations on.  I had a transistor radio just like this.  Most of the stations were AM in those days…  In Little Rock, it was KAAY.

Vietnam War Protest

Vietnam War Protest

Anti-war Protest Slogans

  • The slogan “One, two, three, four! We don’t want your fucking war!” was chanted repeatedly at demonstrations throughout the U.S. in the late 1960s and early 1970s.
  • “Draft Beer, not boys”, “Hell no, we won’t go”, “Make love, not war”, and “Eighteen today, dead tomorrow” were a few of the anti war slogans.
  • “Hey, hey, LBJ, how many kids did you kill today?” was chanted during LBJ’s tenure as President and almost anytime he appeared publicly.
  • “Ho, Ho, Ho Chi Minh, NLF is gonna win”

See Wikipedia article here.

Black Light Peace Poster

Black Light Peace Poster

This is the exact same black light peace poster I had hanging on my bedroom wall when I was an adolescent.  It was about 2 ft wide by 4 ft long.

Assassination of MLK Jr

Assassination of Martin Luther King, Jr – 1968

See Wikipedia article here.

What can I say?  All this stuff, and I still don’t quite feel like a grown-up.  It was a world of innocence, idealism, and assassinations, civil unrest, and the threat of nuclear warfare.  So complex, yet so simple compared to now….

Terms and Conditions of Use

All content provided on this DogDharma blog is for informational and entertainment purposes only. The owner of this blog makes no representations as to the accuracy or completeness of any information on this site or found by following any link on this site.  Views are an expression of the blog owner’s opinion only.

Once again, no representations as to accuracy, completeness, correctness, suitability, or validity of any information on this site is claimed.

The owner of DogDharma will not be liable for any errors or omissions in this information nor for the availability of this information. The owner will not be liable for any losses, injuries, or damages from the display or use of this information.

About DogDharma

Dog Dharma is written by a human who loves dogs and who believes dogs have attained enlightenment. The human behind Dog Dharma came from humble origins, has faced many trials, enjoyed many adventures, and taken a path less traveled. He claims no special privilege or expertise, and remains humble. Dog Dharma‘s author has learned a few things along the way, and has much yet to learn. He has been told by many people that he has a talent for writing, and aspires to write a book, but is a little too lazy and disorganized, so his blog will suffice for now. He opens a window into his life in the hope that some of his words may be of comfort, some may be a beacon or warning, and perhaps he will connect with like-minded souls. Everything shared comes from a place of openness and honesty, but with no claim that he possesses the Truth. People and places mentioned should be taken as pseudonyms. In many cases, details may be an amalgamation of actual events disguised to protect the “innocent.” Nothing written is to be taken as actual fact, but as the author of Dharma Dog‘s limited understanding. From the mouths of the Beatles: In the end, the love you take is equal to the love you make
This entry was posted in assassinations, childhood, civil rights, growing up, memories, music, toys, Vietnam War and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Growing Up

  1. mandy says:

    What a blast from the past–we must have grown up in the same era. Bazooka gum was the very BEST! “-)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. DogDharma says:

    I remember how excited I was when I first learned how to blow a bubble. 🙂 Those funny landmarks of childhood. 🙂 I don’t recall worrying about area codes, and telephone numbers started with prefixes. My telephone number started with 37 which equals FR, so when I gave my phone number, it was Franklin-blah-blah. If you’re my age, then we’re either relics or finely seasoned with wisdom. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. mandy says:

    Lol. For fun I looked up relic and it said “all that is left of something (a lost civilization). Yep, that must be us! We had “party lines” and I loved sitting on the phone listening in to housewives gossiping, and then one of them would say, “Do you hear something? Is somebody on the line?” and me trying to hold in the laughter.” Oh, that lost civilization! 🙂 Guess I was an onery one!

    Liked by 1 person

    • DogDharma says:

      Mandy, I forgot to include a photo of my black-light peace poster! I should edit the post to include it. My aunt had a party-line, AND an out-house!! My mother (such as she was) grew up on a poor rural farm. She told a story about being in the out-house one day, and crop-duster flying so low that the pilot waved at her! Indeed, fragments of a lost civilization! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • mandy says:

        Sounds like your mother had the same poor upbringing as me–out house and all. Rattlesnakes nested in the ” hole” and don’t think that doesn’t cause “bathroom” problems, lol. I was glad to grow up and leave my roots where bedrooms had doors and bathrooms prevailed! No blacklight posters for me. That would have been blaspheme. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. luckyotter says:

    I’m just two years younger than you and I remember a lot of this stuff. I loved my Lincoln Logs!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. DogDharma says:

    lucky otter, I loved those Lincoln Logs, too!! There are so many other things I could have included. This is a post that just doesn’t stop giving when one stops to think about childhood memories!!

    Like

  6. I’d not heard of a fudgsicle but that looks amazing! Can you still get them?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. DogDharma says:

    tj, I believe I’ve still seen them here in the stores in the US, but I somehow doubt that they taste as good as they did back then! I’m not sure if that’s because they would be more artificial now or back then. But they were yummy chocolate goodness.

    I also remember that we used to make ice cream out of snow!!! Then people became afraid to do that because it might be radiated or have pollutants in it. My how things change!

    Like

Leave a Reply

